top of page
Writer's pictureRobin Butler

School Begins - Go To Class Procedures

Updated: Aug 13, 2022

The beginning of school is such an important time. In my school, it is both the first and last years of middle school (we only have 7th/8th grade classes). Not to mention that middle school in general is a melting pot of social interactions, body changes and academic stresses.


As a science teacher, I know many are excited to experience science for the first time, but I always think of this piece of advice my dad gave me the first year of teaching "You can always loosen your belt, never tighten it." What this means is that I need to make sure that my students (old and new) know my expectations while also know that they are in a welcoming classroom.


The first week or two, we spend time getting to know each other. I ask students silly questions like "What's your favorite smell" or "If you had to fight a shark or a lion, which would you choose?" (another post on my "get to know you" activities later). These questions are out of the ordinary, fun and silly. That sets a friendly environment. But what I want to talk about is the procedures, how do I make them as clear, but also welcoming to my middle school students? Here are a couple GO TO procedures I make sure they know.


  1. Bad Day Pass - I'm not sure where this idea came from, but I love it so much. Middle school students struggle with their emotions and many don't know how to express them without exploding or shutting down. The bad day pass student ask for me to give. If they use this pass, they are left alone. Day-to-day this might look differently, but students are given as much alone time as possible. I also know that they might not be 100% that day. So if they have group work, they still do group work, but maybe I give them grace on participation. Or if they are doing a lab, maybe I give them the absent alternative instead. Or maybe they get more bathroom breaks then normal. This looks different for each student and each day, but the important part is that they know they can tell me they are not in the best mood, know I won't ask about it, and that I'm here if they need me and this classroom is a safe place.

  2. Technology & Personal Items - I'm very clear on my technology rules. Many of my students have had cell phones, headphones, watches, etc. for many years. Some are just now getting them. Either way, my personal technology rule is very clear, "I see it, I take it". This of course may look different in your school depending on your administration, but it's very simple and students know what I expect of them. I also model this by not having my phone out in class either.

  3. Group Work - I feel that it's a hard dynamic to make, but science is never done alone. So group work is very important. I make this procedure very clear, do what you can, to the best of your ability. I teach students to find their "strengths" in my class and use those strengths. They're not all going to be able to recall facts from class, but some may be very artistic, others great a finding information, etc. etc. Whatever that ability, I make the procedure focus on what they CAN provide, not on what they CANNOT.

Of course there are more, but my best suggestion is this, make it simple, make it clear and make it inviting. If you would like to see my class procedure template and use it yourself, follow the instructions below! Best of luck this year science teachers! You're doing amazing work!


To Use Canva Templates:

  1. Make a Canva Account if you do not have one.

  2. Use the link to the template

  3. MAKE A COPY of the template to your profile.

  4. Edit to your heart's desire!




3,232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page