top of page
Writer's pictureRobin Butler

Organizing the Science Classroom

I cannot tell you guys how many times I've organized and re-organized my classroom to fit just right. Every time I get a new one, it's like starting all over again.


I wanted to give some simple, but helpful ways to stay organized in any classroom setting! Hopefully you'll find something you can use!


Labels for Supplies

Labels have saved my life and sanity in the classroom. Not only do they help me find things quickly for labs and activities, they also help my students find items in my classroom. The label maker I have is the Brother P-touch PT-45mm. I've found that this label maker is reasonable priced, but still has some bells and whistles to them if I want them (i.e. borders, ink color, emojis, etc.) You can also get different colors of tape if you are feeling "spicy"!


Labels for Seats

You might think that labeling is getting out of hand, but trust me, the clearer you are in the classroom, the easier you'll see students can transition! So I label my lab lockers and drawers. At the lab tables in my classroom, students have lab lockers. I gave each student their own. So labeling is a MUST! I wanted them to be larger and easier so see, so my label maker wasn't going to cut it. I instead made my own to my classroom style. The students are able to easily find what they need and make lab days a breeze!

Lab Caddies

I have a lab caddy at each lab table that contains the basics like soap and sponges (for cleanup purposes). I also use the caddy to place special materials we may used for the day. For example, I'll put a collect of rocks in the caddy to look at during lecture or building supplies for building a catapult.


These guys are tricky though. You let them go unchecked long enough, they become a place to store trash. If you keep up on them, it's a place your students can put tools that'll be reused for your next class (i.e. no pickup between classes). Keep an eye on them, but they're a great tool!


Teacher Tool Boxes:

I have mixed feelings about theses. Although they're super cute, the one I have I use only for small supplies. Much of it could be stored in my desk, but because I have it, I use it. It can be handy from time to time, but I wouldn't go out of my way to replace the one I have. Your desk work justs fine.


Desk Organizers:

My desk is where I store all my required materials for me to function. My special pens, hole punchers, big girl scissors, and of course, tape that always seems to run away. I have several desk organizers that I use for different drawers. In my opinion, you can never have too many!


I really like the ones where they are all put together. I've just never liked the individual ones because never been able to get them to fit and then they just move around. It's so annoying. Use something like the one below. That'll make your life easier!


Hopefully this is helpful for you all! Organization is a daily task. If you're feeling overwhelmed, just follow the 2 minute rule. As you're doing something, would it take LESS THAN 2 minutes to complete? For example, would it take less than 2 minutes for you to put extra handout away instead of laying them on your desk? Or maybe would it take less than 2 minutes to pick up paper scraps? If it does, just do it. If it doesn't save it for a later time!


You guys are amazing teachers. No matter the state of your classroom, just note that the clearer your classroom is to you and your students, the less work you are doing cleaning up, reorganizing and setting things back up. It's amazing work we do! Keep going!!


That_One_Science_Teacher

133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page