top of page
Writer's pictureRobin Butler

Transitioning: Grade to Grade

This summer has been a busy one for me everyone! I have been teaching for 7 years in middle school and have taken an opportunity to change schools and grade levels. To high school I go! So, what has this transition taught me so far?


1. I'm a new teacher, but not a new teacher. What do I mean? I'm a new teacher in the fact that I now have three new preps, with three new subjects that I have never taught before, but I have 7 years of experience in teaching. I know more that I think I do. I have to remind myself of this periodically because this summer has been a roller coaster of "I've got this" and "I have so much to do!". Going back to my middle school articles and seeing what I can modify has helped save me time and again. Even my syllabus is modeled after my old middle school one!


2. One step (unit) at a time. The AP class is where I really need to remind myself that it's ok if I don't have the whole year planned like I'm use to by now. If I have 1-2 units planned, that gives me a head start at least. I'm not going to kill myself planning my 3 classes over the whole summer! I mean, who has the time to do that anyways! So, that it one unit at a time, it's ok if you don't have your whole year done by the time school starts!

__________________________________________________________________________________


3. Ask for help! Social media (Facebook specifically for me, I know, old Millennial I am) has been really helpful in helping me vet some of my items. I have posted some "first day of school" items to see if they are age appropriate to my new classes and grade levels and have gotten a lot of good feedback. Find some groups that you feel like you can post at and ask for help. Be vulnerable and post anonymously even if you want to! You'll get great feedback from stuff you're working on from people are wanting to help and may even get some new ideas!


All in all, transitioning from one grade to another is hard. From one school to another is hard. To do both at the same time is even harder. The point is that you are a great teacher, you are doing this transition for a reason! Find some joy in it, and although we are getting close to the end of summer, make sure to find some time to enjoy it a bit. Once school starts, you'll be working really hard on that new curriculum. I know I will be!


You've got this everyone! Best of luck on the new school year and stay tuned for the next post!


That One Science Teacher

413 views2 comments

2 Comments


jmalito
Aug 05, 2023

I love your biology syllabus. Did you make that using Canva? I was just introduced to that app this summer. If so is it a template you would be willing to share? Im in my 25th year teaching Biology and I need to change it up a little.

jmalito@lw210.org

Like
Robin Butler
Robin Butler
Aug 05, 2023
Replying to

Oh for sure! I've shared the link before! It's a view only so just make a copy and then you'll have it to then all to yourself! Enjoy! https://www.canva.com/design/DAFoEj8S-DQ/KDqeZVs_YyMomXQvbdY7iw/edit?utm_content=DAFoEj8S-DQ&utm_campaign=designshare&utm_medium=link2&utm_source=sharebutton

Like
bottom of page