top of page
Writer's pictureRobin Butler

Everyone Has a Bad Day

Everyone has a bad day. Am I right? I mean, even teachers, as perfect as we are, have bad days! How do we manage the bad days that our students have? Especially the moody, zip-lipped teens and preteens out there?


Simple solution - Bad Day Pass



Now this is more of a verbal rather than a physical pass, but it's a pass none the less. I have used Bad Day Passes for close to 5 years now and have had wonderful successes. Here is the basics:


  1. A student of yours is having a bad day, they need to come ask for a "Bad Day Pass" at the beginning of the period to invoke the Bad Day Pass.

  2. Once the Bad Day Pass is invoked, the student is still required to participate to the best of their ability. The way I put it to my students is this "I'll do my utmost best to not bother you when you're using your Bad Day Pass". This could be seen in a couple of scenarios :

    1. You've got lecture: students are expected to still take notes, but I as a teacher may not ask them to answer questions or may avoid walking by them during class.

    2. You've got lab/group projects: students are expected to do the "bare minimum" (e.g. write down responses, do their lab job, complete their group work individually, whatever that looks like), but they may not be talking as much, maybe you can allow them to do their part individually then come back to the group to share their work.

    3. You've got a test/quiz: students are expects to still take the test or quiz in class, but as the teacher, you may allow the student extra time or test retakes/corrections depending on the situation, grade or your policies.

  3. The point of the Bad Day Pass is to reduce the number of classroom management issues you may have in class because of outside issues that students may not be able to control. It allows students to feel heard, allows for open communication & boundaries all in one policy!


Q & A Sessions:

1. How many Bad Day Passes do you allow per quarter/semester? - there is no limit to the number of passes a student can have. They know I won't ask questions about the purpose of the passes unless I notice them using them a lot. I've yet had a student "over-use" the Bad Day Pass.

2. What if a student tries to use the Bad Day Pass when they shouldn't? (AKA over-use it) - to prevent "over-use" of the Bad Day Pass, I tell students that if I notice they've using the pass a lot, that I'll start asking questions like "is everything ok?" "do we need to go to the councilor" etc. This seems to deter the over-use of the pass and students only seem to use it when they really need it.

3. What if a student has a Bad Day Pass and doesn't meet the expectations for the day - student know that if they are not doing what is required "bare minimum" than the Bad Day Pass will be revoked and they will be consider a "normal student" again. I have yet to need to revoke a Bad Day Pass because the students know the expectations.

4. What if I really don't want to give a Bad Day Pass out that day? - if a Bad Day Pass really can't be given that day for whatever reason, I try my best to tread as lightly as possible. Even with a student telling me they need a Bad Day Pass lets me know that they need space, however much I can give them helps.

5. Do other students know who has a Bad Day Pass? - no, unless that student wants others to know. That's why the Bad Day Pass is not a physical one. It is a way for me to communicate between me and the students. Many students using this pass don't want their peers to know. I don't make it a public thing if I can help it. If I have to tell a group that one of their group members needs space or that they'll be working by themselves today, I never tell them why. I just tell them that's how it is and if they need something, they can come to me.


Classroom management is difficult, but communication helps! This small change could make a BIG change! Try it out this year! Add it to your syllabus and watch the communication and trust between you and your students change! And know, bad days will pass!


3,332 views1 comment

1 Comment


rskloff
Aug 02, 2023

I used a bad day pass last year. It was only used a few times, but I would always let guidance know. They would always make an effort to do a “random” check in with the student during that period!

It was never abused by students, but was an easy offering on my end!

Like
bottom of page